Business continuity management (BCM)

Business continuity management (BCM)

What are BCM standards?

The ISO 22301 business continuity management standard, crucially helps organisations identify and prioritise threats. It allows them to implement their business continuity management system effectively so they are ready to respond to and recover from incidents with the least disruption to business.

What are the 4 main components of BCM?

The four main areas of business continuity management are 

1) disaster prevention,

2) disaster preparedness,

3) disaster response and

4) disaster recovery

What are the three elements of BCM?

A BCM plan is the base for most BCM processes and consists of three distinct sections: an emergency response plan, a crisis management plan and an operational recovery plan.

What are the 6 phases of BCM?

The Business Continuity Management Lifecycle

  • Policy and Programme Management. The first step when designing your Programme is to develop your Business Continuity Policy.
  • Embedding. Here, the focus is on integrating business continuity into BAU activities within the organisation. 
  • Analysis.
  • Design. 
  • Implementation.
  • Validation.


Why is BCM important?

Effective BCM ensures that organisations can provide an acceptable service in the event of a disaster, helping them preserve their reputation and keep revenue coming in.